a_small_cup_of_coffee I bet you thought I was going to say something like “Let’s talk about sex, baby,” as quoted by Salt-n-Peppa. Sorry. that’s just not what I had in mind.

This time.

Last night I met with someone who wants to become a librarian. She wanted to talk to someone who does this stuff, who made their career out of it, and who’s weird enough to love it as much as I do. Now, I’ve talked science with Ph.Ds. I’ve conversed about history with professors. I’ve discussed Virginia Woolf with exotic dancers.

But last night I talked about libraries with a wonderful person with very special interests and it was awesome.

As librarians and library professionals, we tend to talk to each other a lot. That’s understandable as we all speak the same basic language, we know our jobs and have an understanding of someone else’s job, we know the trends, we dig the tech. However, I can’t help but think we’re preaching to the choir. Sure, that librarian over there typically agrees with my opinion because they are, after all, a librarian too. What we need to do is talk to those who don’t know and speak with those who have the interest, but have questions that never appear on a reference interview stat sheet.

When was the last time you talked about your job to people who want to do what you do? It’s not just us, because most jobs are like that. Only at career fairs and the like do people get together and talk about what they do and why they think it’s awesome and what sucks and what’s improving and what’s not.

Last night I sat down for coffee with someone and we talked about what I do for a living and about my passion for it. It was amazing and I highly recommend you try it.

